AdrenaPro Offshore, the navigation software of Volvo Ocean Race 2014-2015

The international competition Volvo Ocean Race is back this year for the twelfth edition, with new one design 65 feet monohulls. Adrena has been selected as one of the one design supplier of  the Race.

Adrena,  Volvo Ocean Race 2014-2015 one design supplier

This Year, all Volvo Ocean Race competition boats will be identic for every team. Built on one-design, every boat will be fit with AdrenaPro Offshore. During the last edition five out of six teams participating in the VOR were equipped with Adrena Software. Boats past from Volvo Open 70 to Volvo Ocean 65 designed by Farr Yacht Design, and built by four boatyards in Europe: Green Marine in the United Kingdom, Decision in Switzerland, Persico in Italy and Multiplast in France. This production management reduces the team investment to around 15 million euros per entry and gives the same chance for every sailor.


Five teams announced

For the moment, five teams have announced their participation, Team Brunel (Netherlands), Team SCA (Sweden), Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing (United Arab Emirates), Dongfeng Race team (China) and Team Alvimedica (Turkey). Andrew Cape is back again as navigator, for his sixth Volvo Ocean Race with Team Brunel, reuniting with his former skipper Bouwe Bekking.

Volvo Ocean Race will start from Alicante in October 2014 with for the first time all-female crew, SCA.

Adrena is a technical partner of Groupama 4, winner of the last Volvo Ocean Race, was equipped with the solution AdrenaPro Offshore. 


A course of 38,739 nautical miles

Twelfth edition of this famous race around the world offers the fans an exceptional bonus a 24-hour pit-stop in The Hague.

The competition will leave from Alicante, Spain and finish in Gothenburg, Sweden with eleven stopovers in between :  Cape Town (South Africa), Auckland (New Zealand), Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates), Lisbon (Portugal), Lorient (France),  Itajaí (Brazil), Sanya (China), The Hague (Netherlands)  and Newport (United States of America).

The race will last nine months with approximately 39,000 nautical miles.