Hectic sailing news !

Volvo Ocean Race, Solitaire du Figaro, Tour de France Sailing Race, Transpac Race…


This is the end of the longest sports event in the world

Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing first overall and Dongfeng Race Team, the Chinese-French team, is on the podium

Seven crews departed from Alicante in the end of 2014 to race around the world during 9 months. After 11 stopovers (Cape Town, Abu Dhabi, Sanya, Auckland, Itajai, Newport, Lisbon and Lorient), more than 38 700 nautical miles and a great deal of suspense, the race has just ended in Gothenburg in Sweden.


A faultless race for Abu Dhabi

With an advance of 9 points, Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing has almost been ensured to win the Volvo Ocean Race 2014-15 since the French stopover. On top of their victory in the race overall classification, Ian Walker and his team mates finished also in first position in the In-Port Series classification.

As for the second position, nothing was decided yet. 4 boats could still claim to it! When leaving Lorient, Team Alvimedica took the lead and stayed ahead until the 24-hours pit stop in La Haye… This gave them the opportunity to leave the Netherlands one hour and 46 minutes before Dongfeng Race Team who arrived second in La Haye, and to win the last leg of this race.

Finally, Team Brunel finishes just behind Abu Dhabi. In third position, Dongfeng Race Team, led by Charles Caudrelier, managed to maintain their spot on the podium. Team Alvimedica and Mapfre were tied for the fourth place and had to break it during the last in-port race on June 27th on Göta Alv river. The Spanish crew led by Iker Martinez won it and thus kept the precious fourth place. Men led by Charlie Enright finished fifth in the overall classification, just before Team SCA, the only all-female crew in the competition. Team Vastas Wind, who returned to the race from Lisbon, closes the overall classification of the Volvo Ocean Race 2014-15. Let’s meet in 2017!

All the results here 

Volvo Ocean Race

ADRENA team was present during the French stopover of the VOR to meet the crews. On that occasion, discover or watch again the testimonies of the navigators made during the stopover! 


La Solitaire du Figaro Eric Bompard Cachemire 2015

A third one for Yann Eliès !

Bordeaux, Saxenxo, La Cornouaille, Torbay and Dieppe saw the 39 skippers who had started the Solitaire du Figaro Eric Bompard on May 31st. After more than 2000 nautical miles, various weather conditions, great battles, broken material, rerouting of a leg, victories, deceptions… The final classification has been drawn up!

Yann Eliès (Groupe Quéguiner – Leucémie Espoir) is the winner of this 46th edition!  Already winner in 2012 and 2013, he joins Philippe Poupon, Jean Le Cam, Michel Desjoyeaux and Jérémie Beyou in the elite club of triple winners.

Yann Eliès - Solitaire du Figaro - crédit photo : Alexis Courcoux

Winner, but winner on the green carpet. Indeed, Xavier Macaire (Skipper Hérault) was at the top of the provisional classification by arriving in first position in Dieppe. Very regular on the 4 legs (5th in Sanxenxo, 2nd in Concarneau, 3rd in Torbay and first in the last leg), he broke the Marine Regulatory during the fourth leg by briefly going into an area forbidden to the navigation. This error cost him a penalty of 60 minutes. Thus, he finishes third in the overall classification. Charlie Dalin (Skipper Macif 2015) completes the podium by finishing second. The battle is always hard for such race!

All the results of the Solitaire du Figaro Eric Bompard Cachemire 2015


Tour de France Sailing Race

The “Tour” switching on multihulls for the 38th edition!

The great new feature this year is that the Tour is competed in multihull. The Diam 24 was chosen by ASO in order to replace the M34. This 7,25 meters trimaran (plan VPLP) requires only three crew members, compared to 6 to 8 previously. Moreover, it is much cheaper than the monohull: almost three times less expensive (55 000 euros against 150 000).

The last edition had gathered only 9 boats… This year, 28 teams have started in Dunkirk on July 3rd! There are 9 legs: Fécamp, Pornichet, Roscoff, Les Sables d‘Olonne, Roses, Gruissan, Marseille and Nice. At the moment Frédéric Guilmin (Combiwest) is first, followed by Franck Cammas on Groupama, but nothing is decided yet!

The mixed and international line-up will give the opportunity to see skippers from various levels and backgrounds to battle it out on equal terms. Let’s meet on the French coasts the first three weeks of July to admire the show!


Transpacific Yatch Race

One of the oldest sailing races in the world

Since 1906, the Transpacific Yacht Club organizes the “Transpac” every 2 years. From Los Angeles to the Hawaiian capital, the 2 225 nautical miles route (4102 km) is subject to several attempts to break the record all along the year.

In 2013, the most famous sailing race of the American west coast had welcomed around fifty competitors coming from all over the world. The 48th edition has started on July 13th off the coast of Point Fermin in San Pedro (on the south border of Los Angeles).

Around sixty teams have the pleasure to enjoy a spi surfing navigation into the trade winds until the Diamond Head Lighthouse in the east of Honolulu.

The race is well known for the famous downwind legs in subtropical winds. No doubt this is an extraordinary and unforgettable experience for all of the competitors.

We wish them fair winds and following seas!

More information on the website of the race